Language: Dutch, Papiamento (official), English (widely spoken)

Time Zone: AST — Atlantic Standard Time

International phone code: 599

Currency: Netherlands Antillean guilder (ANG)

Capital: Willemstad

Transportation: Enter by plane or cruise ship. Cars can be rented from a variety of merchants at the Hato Airport and across the island.

Gay Netherlands Antilles:

As of 2010, the Netherlands Antilles no longer exist. The former constituent of the Kingdom of the Netherlands was made up of six islands in the Lesser Antilles: Aruba, Curaçao, Bonaire, Sint Maarten, Saba, and Sint Eustatius.

The population of the islands is mostly Roman Catholic and as a result resistance to specific gay rights — such as same-sex marriage — is high. But the Dutch influence is still strong, and marriages recognized in Holland are recognized here.

And while religious views may lean towards the conservative, tourism accounts for such a major part of the islands' economies that the populace is generally welcoming and their "live and let live" motto is much in evidence.